The late dance hall artiste, Ebony Reigns, won the ultimate award at the 19th edition of the Vodafone Ghana Music Awards which was held at the Accra International Conference Centre, yesterday.

She is the first female artiste to win the most prestigious slot of the VGMA since its inception 19 years ago.

She won Artiste of the Year, Afropop Song of the Year with ‘Sponsor,’ Album of the Year, while his manager, Bullet,  picked the Songwriter of the Year award for her song, ‘Maame Hwer.’

Ebony beat gospel giant Joe Mettle, rap champ Sarkodie, dance hall king Shatta Wale and Bhim Nation Presdent, Stonebwoy to win the coveted Artiste of the Year award.

The posthumous awards were picked up by her management team led by Bullet of Rufftown Records.

Prior to the award ceremony there had been several campaigns from the media, stakeholders of the music industry and music lovers for the young artiste who died through a car accident in February, to win the award.

There were performances from Joe Mettle, Kelvyn Boy, MzVee, Sarkodie, Stonebwoy, Samini, Kidi, Kuami Eugene, among others.

Female musicians Efya, MzVee, Adina and Akosua Agyapong paid tribute to Ebony by performing some of her songs.

Nigerian diva, Tiwa Savage and South Africa’s Nasty C also took turns to perform.

Check out the full list of winners of the 2018 VGMA:

Song of the Year
Total Cheat – Fancy Gadam ft. Sarkodie

Album of the Year
Bonyfied (Ebony)

Artiste of the Year

Gospel Song of the Year
Bo Noo Ni – Joe Mettle

Hip Pop Song of the Year
Grind Day (Remix) – Kwesi Arthur

Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year
My Own – Samini

Hiplife Song of the Year
Total Cheat – Fancy Gadam ft. Sarkodie

Afro Pop Song of the Year
Sponsor – Ebony

Highlife Song of the Year
Odo – Kidi

Gospel Artiste of the Year
Joe Mettle

Highlife Artiste of the Year
Kuami Eugene

Hiplife/Hiphop Artiste of the Year

Songwriter of the Year
Bullet for ‘Maame Hw3’

Reggae/Dancehall Artiste of the Year

Best Collaboration of the Year
Shatta Wale & Militants – Taking Over

Rapper of the Year

Best Group of the Year

Best Music Video of the Year
Obi Agyi Obi Girl – Gyo of Phamous Philms

Best Male Vocalist of the Year
Joe Mettle

Best Female Vocalist of the Year

African Artiste of the Year

Record of the Year
State of the Art – Teephlow

Best New Artiste of the Year
Kuami Eugene

Traditional Artiste of the Year
Amamerefo Music and Dance Ensemble

Instrumental Artiste of the Year
Dominic Quashie

Lifetime Achievement Award
Mary Naa Amanua Doodo of Wulomei

Producer of the Year



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here